Engagement

Instagram is my favorite social media platform for simple reasons – it’s easy to use, it’s easy to find “your people” and somehow, I still find that I can connect with people in a real and genuine way.

In fact, I have made a handful of real friends through Instagram. I find myself wanting to reach out to them throughout the day more often than my “real” friends – and most of the time I do!

IMG_7838For the last several months on the ‘Gram, there have been “Makeup Lovers” support trains. The idea is simple – you follow and support everyone on the train and vice versa.  It’s a great way to meet new people, learn new things and grow your social media presence.

Of course there’s always those that ruin it – either by not following you back at all or by following you and then unfollowing a few days later. This is a common tactic to increase your following. The problem? Having people follow you isn’t engagement – the engagement part comes when it’s reciprocal.

For some reason, it’s widely considered a positive if you have high numbers of “fans” that follow you and a comparatively lower ratio that you follow.

I get it. It’s really hard to engage with followers. My feed is packed and I miss things all the time. I’m very selective with who I turn on post notifications for and I have to make a real effort keeping up with the people I’ve already developed relationships with, and I have to make time to seek out certain users that entertain, inspire or consistently produce great content.

This is why I unfollow those that unfollow me. There are very few people (mostly businesses) that produce such great content that I’m willing to be a number for them.

While I totally understand that numbers count for everything in this game, I also believe that businesses that are savvy enough to use influencer marketing also seek influencers who truly engage.

Published by

thefabulush

Happy wife. Registered Nurse. Product Junkie. Make Up Superfan. Amateur Chef. Wannabe Interior Designer. Professional Consumer of Red Wine. Mother of some really cool humans, enjoying their tween and teen years much more than the baby years. Step-Monster and Upgrade Wife. Bad Friend - except online. Rheumatoid Arthritis Sufferer.

Leave a comment